ULTIMATE SEARCH

Oji ojii Amah
3 min readFeb 23, 2021

--

Searching for solution

Before telling you my story and what I was searching for ,I would like you to know something about me.

I don’t like being late for anything important especially when it involves academic or personal growth, because when I’m late I becomes so tensed up that if it has to do with speaking I will end up stuttering.

Ultimate search is a story of how I started searching for SIWES destination while still in my second year of study simply because I didn’t want to get worked up when the time eventually comes or even still be searching when my time has start counting.

It all started when a friend mentioned about Andela and how they accept interns, I quickly noted the name and went ahead to ask few questions. I got home that day ,searched about them and found out I was under skilled for the opportunity. This became the beginning of my quest to start learning how to code and stop waiting for IT period to come. Boom…, I get ww3school offline course and started with HTML. Did it last? Story for another day. I Applied for Andela twice .

The next was Genesys tech hub. I got to know about them when they hosted a boot camp tagged SHE CAN CODE !. I loved and still love this hub. After the 1week boot camp I followed them on facebook so as to know when they are accepting interns. I applied and got rejected. I was broken because curriculum was much yet I studied it graciously. I learnt something shaa.

Lockdown came and I spent my time acquiring knowledge on frontend web development. I was bent on improving myself. I met lots of amazing souls. I’m grateful for all the help they offered me. I improved

2021 , the time was closer and I became scared that what I was avoiding might happen ( not getting a place for my SIWES on time). My mentor advised me to make a tweet about it and I did. I reached out to a lot of hubs after the tweet. Hubs like:

  1. Lochtech at Ph
  2. Accelerators at Ph.
  3. Roothub at Ph/Uyo.
  4. Digital dreams at Abakaliki
  5. C-web at Abakaliki
  6. Web gigo at Abakaliki
  7. NIIT at enugu
  8. Listacc at Abakaliki

And some I might have forgotten. One thing common about this hubs is the fact that interns have to pay for their SIWES which is unlike Andela and Genesys who pays interns.

At this point I was a week into my SIWES already so I settled with Listacc and today is my first day of SIWES. Due to the knowledge I acquired during the lockdown I didn’t start from HTML rather CSS which I happens not to like because I want to start from Javascript. I was given a task that involves HTML,CSS and bootstrap to build. Hopefully after submission by monday, they might start a JS class for me.

You see, it was really an ultimate search. On that note I want to appreciate each and everyone of you who assisted me in one way or the other, especially my mentor Azubuike Emmanuella Amarachi.

--

--